Public Holidays

There are currently nine public holidays in the Republic of Ireland listed below. Public Holiday legislation is governed by the Organisation of Working Time Act 1997 and the relevant dates that they fall on in 2017 can be seen below: 

  • New Years Day – 1st January 2017 
  • St. Patrick’s Day – 17th March 2017 
  • Easter Monday – 17th April 2017 
  • First Monday in May – 1st May 2017 
  • First Monday in June – 5th June 2017 
  • First Monday in August – 7th August 2017 
  • Last Monday in October – 30th October 2017 
  • Christmas Day – 25th December 2017 
  • St. Stephens Day – 26th December 2017 

If an employee works any of the above Public Holidays, they are entitled to their basic rate of pay for working that day, as well as benefiting from any of the below: 

  • A paid day off within one month 
  • An extra days annual leave 
  • An extra days pay 
  • A paid day off on the holiday 

If the Public Holiday falls on a day the employee worked or is normally required to work, then they are entitled to remuneration equivalent to the hours the employee worked on their last working day before the holiday. If it is a day they are not normally required to work or did not work, then the employee is entitled to remuneration equivalent to one-fifth of their last normal working week. 

If you have any more queries on Public Holidays, please please get in touch with our HR Solutions team on (090) 648 0600.

A copy of the HR & Payroll Winter Newsletter can be downloaded here.

Team Members

Helena Kiernan

HR Solutions Manager

View Profile